the goddess

I have been spending a lot of time thinking about my life and what symbols are important on this spiritwalk. Over this past summer I explored the goddess and I know the feminine aspect is significant to me. During the early 1980’s I read books by Paramahansa Yogananda and he stated that he used to pray to the Divine Mother aspect of God. Although intellecutally I understand that I did not understand it from a heart space. Most recently I came across a quote: “goddess is the embodiment of the divine as feminine.” and bam it finally sunk in…so I was inspired to create this:

6g

CC License View

I ran out of turquoise and white thread so I will finish this when I can. I put the original quote at the beginning and then added other words that came to mind. Next, I decided I would like to have something I could hold in my hand as a gentle reminder of the divine feminine and how I am protected and loved so I created this:

goddess5

CC License View

they are approx. 4″ tall and fit comfortably in the palm of my hand. These are the “modest” version.

small_venus-of-willendorf-24000bc

this is the Venus of Willendorf estimated to have been carved 24,000–22,000 BC.  The next version I created was modeled as closely in detail to her:

01411

CC License View

your probably wondering why I made so many…well,

it is because it was fun and therapeutic. So much so that I want to give away the pattern for it in a pdf form. I have the pattern completed just need to scan it in…

goddess1

CC License View

a basket full of the goddess….

2 thoughts on “the goddess

  1. Totally cool. I thought of doing something based on this doll…but you have done such a great job. If you do get a PDF up I think I will make one and add it to my doll collection.

    • I really do want to get this pattern up here. As soon as I can I will. It is all ready to go. Just need the way to get it up here. They are so much fun to make.

Leave a Reply

