Fish

I have been thinking about adding fish to my (spirit) cloth for quite some time so, I decided to create some as connecting pieces for the larger pieces of the quilt. As I began to create them I decided I would take a quick look on the internet to remember how the fins look and I came across koi fish.

This is what I read:

In Japanese symbolism the koi represents perserverance in adversity and strength of purpose. The strongest koi swims upstream until it reaches the final waterfall, where it vaults into the mists and becomes a water dragon.

I knew this little fish would be one of my symbols because my life has been about perserverance in adversity. I know everyone faces challenges in one way or another.

The first koi fish were very simple in nature.

fish

CC License View

simple koi

fish5

CC License View

simple koi

I decided to add a little drumming ceremony to celebrate my new found symbol

drumming ceremony

CC License View

red moon

CC License View

there was a red full moon present for the ceremony

koi

CC License View

a visit from a koi fish above a lotus flower

koi drumming ceremony

CC License View

Leave a Reply

